About

My background

I am a seasoned communication expert with over two decades of experience that spans from analysis to strategy and execution, and with a broad range of expertise from science communication to digital strategy, training and public speaking, as well as program management and development.

My LinkedIn profile provides a synopsis of my resume. If you are interested in the detailed version, please keep reading.

In 1998, I started to learn the craft of communication, media relations and marketing from the ground up (Switzerland Tourism). In 2000, I specialized in the digital aspects of communication and acquired the tools of project management (Credit Suisse). I started my first blog a few years later, at that time still in a personal and not a professional context. In addition to my full-time jobs, I also worked as a freelance journalist (Whitehot Magazine, Ensuite, Facts 2.0).

Subsequently, I took on more strategic roles: Between 2006 and 2011, I was responsible for communication and marketing at cultural institutions (Villa Sträuli, Moods jazz club) and launched a digital communication strategy at Moods with a strong focus on social media. In 2011, I moved to the agency start-up Blogwerk, where I advised clients such as Swisscom and Migros on corporate blogs and social media projects, while also managing blogs as an editor and giving courses on writing for digital media, including for the ETH.

However, communication is only one of the re-occurring themes in my CV. The other is program design – which is why I completed a Master of Advanced Studies in Culture Management in addition to a CAS PR Editor and other continuing education courses. Program design is something I had already done at Villa Sträuli. In 2013, I became program director at the “Karl der Grosse” cultural center, where I was responsible for transforming the space into a house of debate with various event formats and digital platforms. In my free time, I was involved in the spoken word event series Salonpalaver, which I initiated in 2010 together with the author Tanja Kummer, and brought to various cultural stages in the nine years that followed. A few years after its founding, I took over full program responsibility.

I have always been interested in activities such as presenting, teaching, consulting and coaching. And starting in 2010, I had the opportunity to contribute content and ideas at various universities (ZHAW, ZHdK, FHNW) for individual CAS (Course of Advanced Studies) modules and lecture series. In fall and winter 2015/2016, I also supported the Literaturmuseum Strauhof and the think tank W.I.R.E. in developing new communication strategies as a freelancer.

Starting in March 2016, I was responsible for a new way of communicating content at the Jacobs Foundation. During a period of four years, I built the BOLD platform (Blog on Learning and Development), which today reaches 30,000 readers from all over the world  every month. BOLD communicates scientific insights in an easily accessible way and has around 250 authors – many of whom are researchers that I helped to formulate their contributions for a broad readership as editor-in-chief, and some of whom are science journalists.

Among other types of digital features, I also conceptualized a series of ten animated explanatory videos. These were produced in partnership with kurzgesagt, and starting in 2020, also with significant support from catta, and always in collaboration with a scientist. As part of my work for BOLD and the Jacobs Foundation, I also acted as an expert for science communication events and organized events that fostered dialogue between researchers and the public.

During my last six months at the Jacobs Foundation, I once again focused on program design and was co-leader of the “Learning Minds” program area and team before I decided in fall 2020 to dedicate myself entirely to (science) communication.

At the beginning of 2021, I launched the podcast SciComm Palaver, which I also host and produce. In April 2021, I proudly joined Bernet Relations as a Senior Consultant.

Contact

Über mich

Etappen auf dem Weg zur Wissenschafts­kommunikation

Ich bin eine Kommunikationsexpertin mit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten Erfahrung in Analyse, Strategie und Umsetzung. Ich verfüge über ein breites Spektrum an Fachwissen und Fertigkeiten von Wissenschaftskommunikation über digitale Strategien, Schulungen und öffentliche Auftritte bis hin zu Programm-Gestaltung und -Entwicklung.

Eine übersichtliche Kurzfassung meines Lebenslaufs hält mein LinkedIn-Profil bereit. Wenn Sie sich für die ausführliche Version interessieren, lesen Sie an dieser Stelle weiter.

Im Jahr 1998 begann ich, das Handwerk von Kommunikation, Medienarbeit und Marketing von Grund auf zu lernen (Schweiz Tourismus). Bereits ab 2000 spezialisierte ich mich auf die digitalen Aspekte der Kommunikation und eignete mir die Werkzeuge des Projektmanagements an (Credit Suisse). Meinen ersten Blog startete ich wenige Jahre später, damals noch privat. Neben meinen hauptberuflichen Tätigkeiten engagierte ich mich in dieser Zeit auch journalistisch (Whitehot Magazine, Ensuite, Facts 2.0).

In der Folge übernahm ich mehr strategische Verantwortung: Zwischen 2006 und 2011 war ich bei Kulturhäusern für Kommunikation und Marketing verantwortlich (Villa Sträuli, Jazzclub Moods im Schiffbau) und baute beim Moods eine digitale Kommunikationsstrategie mit starkem Fokus auf die Sozialen Medien auf. 2011 zog es mich zum Agentur-Start-up Blogwerk, wo ich Kunden wie die Swisscom und die Migros für Corporate Blogs und Social-Media-Projekte beriet, aber auch selbst Blogs redaktionell betreute und Kurse zum Thema Schreiben für digitale Medien, unter anderem auch für die ETH, durchführte.

Die Kommunikation mit Fokus auf das Digitale ist aber nur ein roter Faden in meiner Biographie. Der andere ist die Programmgestaltung – so schloss ich neben einem CAS PR-Redakteur und anderen Weiterbildungen auch einen Master of Advanced Studies in Kulturmanagement ab. In der Programmgestaltung hatte ich bereits bei der Villa Sträuli angefangen aktiv zu werden. Ab 2013 war ich als Programmleiterin beim Zentrum Karl der Grosse massgeblich verantwortlich, das Haus mit verschiedenen Veranstaltungsformaten und digitalen Angeboten in ein Debattierhaus zu transformieren. In meiner freien Zeit engagierte ich mich für die Spoken-Word-Veranstaltungsreihe Salonpalaver, die ich 2010 gemeinsam mit der Autorin Tanja Kummer initiiert hatte und in den folgenden neun Jahren auf verschiedenste Kulturbühnen brachte; einige Jahre nach der Gründung übernahm ich die volle Programmverantwortung.

Schon immer haben mich auch Tätigkeiten wie das Präsentieren, Unterrichten, Beraten und Coachen interessiert. Ab 2010 hatte ich die Gelegenheit, bei verschiedenen Hochschulen (ZHAW, ZHdK, FHNW) für einzelne CAS-Module und Ringvorlesungen Input zu geben. Im Herbst und Winter 2015/2016 unterstützte ich zudem als Freelancerin das Literaturmuseum Strauhof und den Think Tank W.I.R.E. beim Aufbau neuer Kommunikationsstrategien.

Ab März 2016 war ich bei der Jacobs Foundation für eine neue Inhaltsvermittlungsstrategie verantwortlich. Innerhalb von vier Jahren baute ich die Plattform BOLD, Blog on Learning and Development auf, die heute jeden Monat 30‘000 Leserinnen und Leser aus der ganzen Welt erreicht. BOLD vermittelt Erkenntnisse aus der Wissenschaft auf gut verständliche Weise und hat um die 250 Autorinnen und Autoren – viele von ihnen sind Forschende, die ich als Chefredakteurin dabei unterstützte, ihre Beiträge für eine breite Leserschaft zu formulieren, einige auch Wissenschaftsjournalistinnen.

Als Teil von verschiedensten digitalen Formaten konzipierte ich für BOLD eine Serie von 10 animierten Erklärvideos, die in Partnerschaft mit kurzgesagt, ab 2020 auch unter wesentlicher Mitwirkung von catta, und jeweils in Zusammenarbeit mit einer Wissenschaftlerin oder einem Wissenschaftler erarbeitet wurden. Im Rahmen meiner Arbeit für BOLD und die Jacobs Foundation trat ich auch als Expertin bei Veranstaltungen für Wissenschaftskommunikation auf und organisierte selbst Veranstaltungen im Kulturhaus KOSMOS, die einen Dialog zwischen Forschenden und dem Publikum ermöglichten.

In meinem letzten halben Jahr bei der Jacobs Foundation konzentrierte ich mich nochmals auf den Aspekt der Programmgestaltung und war Co-Leiterin des Programmbereichs und Teams „Learning Minds“, bevor ich mich dann im Herbst 2020 entschied, mich ganz der (Wissenschafts-)Kommunikation zu widmen.

Seit Anfang 2021 bin ich Gründerin, Host und ausführende Produzentin des Podcasts SciComm Palaver. Seit April 2021 bin ich stolzes Teammitglied und Senior Beraterin bei Bernet Relations.

Kontaktieren Sie mich